Big on Organic

nitrogen, baby

Fruits and vegetables that have been grown organically tend to be more durable, and tasty. Because they have not been fed synthetic nitrogen, they grow slower, naturally. The slow growth let the plants develop thicker cell walls containing less water making them more durable. Less water also means more sugars, producing more concentrated flavors.

How about nutrition? A study by University of California-Davis published in the Journal of Agriculture and Food Chemistry in 2003 pointed out an experiment where identical varieties of plant foods were grown in neighbouring plots using organic and non-organic methods to compare levels of vitamins and polyphenols. Polyphenols are compounds that can be described as plant’s own natural pesticides, vital to human health in the form of antioxidants. Organic won the counts. As to why, the researchers suggest two theories. The first, polyphenols are naturally produced to guard the plants from pests and diseases. The more microorganisms they need to defend themselves from, the more polyphenols they produce. Plants that are defended by man-made pesticides don’t need to build as strong of a defense—kind of like breeding a spoiled child. The second theory lies in the chemically fertilized soil of non-organically grown plants. They do not withhold the essential ingredients to synthesize polyphenols,

Organic is preferable in order to get the best out of your raw meals. Because there is no cooking involved to enhance flavor and aroma, I find that sourcing in some organic ingredients can make a big difference in boosting taste and texture of a dish.

Back to Raw 101

-Dom

  1. I’m always wondering about Fruits
    because sometimes you get some fruits that are less sweeter than others, even quite bland.
    and I’m curious about the nutrition content of those fruits.
    Does a less sweeter fruit contain less nutrition ?
    or
    Does a less sweeter fruit contain the same nutrition as the sweeter fruit, (it just has less sugar in it) ?

    I guess it also comes down to season, rainfall, pollution, soil fertility, etc etc
    But I hope when I “unhappily” eat those “bland” fruits due to my lack of fruit choosing skills, at least I can still benefit from the nutrition.

    btw, ever wonder how grandmas always know how to pick the best fruits ?
    I’ve bought fruits millions of times and I’m still guessing each time.
    maybe that’s just me 🙂

    Ann

    • I did question the same thing, but then I thought again if it were the vitamins and minerals that make up the build of nutritional value of the fruits, then sugars of the fruits make up for carbohydrates which is.. the energy and caloric value of the fruit? They are two different components. I would question the organic or non-organic state of the matter to determine nutritional values (the antioxidants) rather than marking sweetness as nutritional reference.

      I start training myself to pick out good fruits. When I go to the fruit grocer, I bombard the employees with questions like a keen student. That’s one way to learn. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

