Diary of a Conflicted Eater: October 8th, 2009

crackers

Remember the prawn crackers I mentioned in the diary entry on October 6th? I finally had some of those in the afternoon. I thought.. I have done well curbing my monstrous eating alter ego for two days now, I can reward (<—- see? denial there) myself a few sinful bites.

I unlocked the tupperware. Made a varied selection of a fluffy, white one, an orange, prawny one, and an emping, also known as krupuk belinjo, a slightly bitter tasting cracker that I later learned are Gnetum seeds that has been ground into flour and deep fried into crackers.

I ate them carefully, savoring every oozing grease. Crispiness melted away by the enzymatic saliva released in the mouth to begin its digesting process. Not as heavenly as I expected it to be. I didn’t feel all nuts inside eating it. It was one of those epiphanic moments I fathom a mind’s weakness. It didn’t taste heaven, and yet I still persisted the activity.

30-45 minutes later, reading from my laptop screen I saw the text blur. Double, triple vision. Wo.. the whole screen is out of focus now. I was falling asleep. Damn crackers. To a raw body, those crackers are sleeping poison. Have I not learned? I returned to the kitchen, took a mango out, and refueled.

-Dom

  1. I know how you feel…this is pretty funny. Are you drawing all these pics? Raw comics…the wave of the future!

    Your vision really got blurry? Yikes!

    • I was thinking of the same thing with the comics. Maybe I’ll get someone to draw the more refined version of everything one day. Print them on T-shirts. šŸ˜€

    • Andrea
    • November 26th, 2009

    Hey, not that I want to encourage you to do things that make you feel bad, but I’d be curious to know what your blood sugar is when you get the blurry vision after eating chips or something. The sugar levels might not be high – it’s probably a rush of insulin (I get them, too, but I’m diabetic) but I wonder if maybe you get a bit of a jump. Crackers like that are so processed (and yes, SO delicious) and the result is that the carbs break into sugar really quickly and hit your blood stream. I really hate that feeling, but it is familiar.

      • Dom
      • November 26th, 2009

      I only get all sleepy over cooked and processed foods when I have been very good with my raw intakes. My body just gets super clean and detoxed that every ‘unfamiliar’ substances consumed for the first time in a very long time affect it greatly. The same way with coffee. I hadn’t been able to drink it for a while because my tolerance to it had gone down, but recently without realizing it, I’ve gradually increased its intake and now I’m back to drinking so much of it. Not good, but I’m not too strict on myself. If it’s not going to kill me, there’s no reason to be too paranoiac about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

