Behind Pareto Raw

Rawman

 

The Pareto principle (also known as the 80-20 rule,[1] the law of the vital few and the principle of factor sparsity) states that, for many events, roughly 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes.


There is a high expectancy from people that raw food is an all or nothing diet. More than a diet, for me it’s a way of life. I get a lot of questions from friends especially when we are out dining together; raw food isn’t much of a fad diet in Jakarta, Indonesia, where I reside now. So I do have to answer some curious questions. “What do you eat?”, “What are you not allowed to eat”, and when they see me lift a piece of chicken or cheese into my mouth they tell me “That’s not raw!”. I always tell people there is no pressure to be 100% raw. In fact I am most of the time 80% raw. I still love my seafood, both sashimi and cooked. I have occassional crave for rice (I grew up with it, I never believed in no-carb diet, I can’t leave it just yet!). I prefer some vegetables cooked, eggplants are my favourites. I still savor cooked dishes when they reach my taste buds. And I happen to be able to make a pretty delicious red velvet cupcakes. 

 

I still allow myself to enjoy the nutrition-less diet 20% of the time. I have to admit, it isn’t easy to stop when you take that dangerous first bite. Cooked food is extremely addictive. I’m still wondering if there is Scientific explanation behind this.  But, since I’ve experienced 80-100% raw, I discovered what it feels like to fuel your body with good. It’s an unbelievable feeling and I didn’t want to lose it, a natural high.  I become conditioned to wanting to maintain that exact feeling, thus becoming more aware with what I put into my system. I transitioned from living to eat mentality to eating to live. There’s so much more to life than food.

 

Dom


  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

